Question: Will he survive?

mkpage0715

Reaction score
Country
United States
I woke up this morning to find one of my axolotl's in the mouth of another....OMG ....I was mortified....when I put in the next to try and grab her, she opened her mouth and the other axolotl swam away...I couldn't believe he was still alive...I pulled him out of the tank and put him in a seperate container, but he is flailing....will he survive? Is there something I can do to help him?

he's most likely flailing due to stress (id flair around a bit too if my roommate tried to eat me). How damaged does he look? does he have all his limbs, etc?? if he's hurt, just keep him cool, clean, and well fed and he should recover.

Really? OMG that makes my day. His head was in her mouth but his body was not...all limbs in place...a nip at the tail it looks like...he has a little light coloring around where her mouth was but other than that he looks fine.

just to clarify, I'm no expert, but he should be fine. Keep an eye on him and keep him cool, clean and fed. he probably just freaked because she tried to eat him. Remember, anything that's smaller than your lotl and looks like it could be food, it will try to eat, so make sure lotls are of a same general size before placing them together.

thanks...lesson learned, believe me....my original axie is the largest in the tank, and then I bought 2 others over the last couple weeks....the last one is smaller but I didn't think it was so small to be concern....but was apparently wrong... I will keep a close eye on him and will hope for the best. Thanks again for the advise.

no problem. you can add him back in when he's too big to be food. for now let him get a little bit bigger.