Wanting to make a nice Axolotl Tank

FireTailz

Reaction score
Country
United States
I am going to make me a nice set up for 6 to 8 Axolotl and I was wanting to do a 90 gallon 48x18x25 . I am new to this so i am learning as i go. All our Axolotl are 1.5- to 2 in at the moment so i have alot of time to do this right. One of my main questions is how often will i have to do water changes . Any reccomendations are welcome , I am at the beginning stages of this just like to plan everything out before i start spending money. Also i am really wanting to do live plants so let me know what u think on that as well.

Re: Wanting to make a nive Axolotl Tank

If your going to make it I would make a bigger floor space such as either 48 X 24 X 15 or even for 8 axies I would consider 72 X 24 X 15. 6-8 full size axies are huge and to accommodate al the hides and plants you want to go big. I have a 48 X 15 X 21 for 3 axies and am looking to upgrade to a larger floor space. Just my personal opinion you should go with the 72 X 24 X (Whatever height you desire).

well they have a 135 gallon wide 72 x 24 x 17 cost a 150 bucks more but thats not really and issue. Just wasnt sure if i wanted to go that big, depending on what i come up with i may cut back a few axolotls. Also they have some thats 13 tall, would that be ok since they really need more floor space.

well they have a 135 gallon wide 72 x 24 x 17 cost a 150 bucks more but thats not really and issue. Just wasnt sure if i wanted to go that big, depending on what i come up with i may cut back a few axolotls. Also they have some thats 13 tall, would that be ok since they really need more floor space.

Yes 13 tall is not a problem they don't have to have a super tall aquarium. So that would be fine.