Illness/Sickness: Front toes half missing/bitten? or is it a type of rot/fungus ?

Jazzy

Reaction score
Country
Australia
Display Name
Jas
Hi, This is my first time posting on this site, and Im so glad I have found it.
My teenage daughter came home one day with 2 pet axalotls from a pet shop.
I know nothing about keeping them but have tried to research as much as I can since aquirering them.

To cut a long story short, Ive had them for about 6 odd weeks now and I think the grey one is a male and the albino is female, and are both approx. 25cm long.
I keep them in a (I think) a 45lt tank with only large pebbles for substrate, a couple of aquatic plants and some tunnels to hide in.
I do live in a sub tropic climate and Im trying to keep the water as cool as I can on warmer days using both ice cubes and freezer bricks (the type you put in your kids lunch boxes for school)

However (to get to the point of my post) Ive notice for about a week now the front toes of the grey axalotl were 'fury' looking, I didnt pay too much attention at first, but upon closer inspection I noticed his toes were a lot shorter than his back ones and that of the albino one.
His back toes look normal, its only his front ones.
Not only this he hasnt been taking to food for about 2 weeks now.
I thought it might have been the 'turtle' food cubes I was giving him that he didnt like so I went out and bought 3 new different variety of frozen foods to alternate.
I decided to take him out today and have a real good look at him as he often hides behind things and is hard to get a real good look at him.

I took him out and put him in a white container with water which gave me a much better look at him given his dark skin colour.
Upon doing this I could see the extent of his toe errosion (?) I could even see what looked like bone on one missing toe, and when I placed his foot onto the tip of my finger there was a trickle of blood that came from his foot or toe.
Now this has got me really worried.