Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

New Axolotl owner

fish4life

Reaction score
Hi all, first of i would like to thank you for such a warm welcome to the forum! Since I'm new to the axolotl world i decided to post a few pics of my setup. I know i have a lot to learn so any advice or observation is welcome. He lives in a 120L tank with quite a few Anatome helena (killer) snails some Neritina (turbo) snails unknown nuber of RC shrimp and about 4 Amano Shrimp (Caridina japonica). water temperature is about 19.8C (Celsius) i only feed him by hand: dried shrimp, frozen blood worms and some piranha pellets i got from a friend (made out of chicken). He is a relatively young axolotl (i think male) at the pet shop they told me about 5 months, they gave me some bogus info about keeping them so i had to learn all of it my self, mostly from this forum. The pet shop kept him in 24C water, 4-mm gravel and a high tank... they told me that he came to them without the right side limbs and damaged gills i felt so bad for the little critter i had to take him home.

Ps.: i know the gravel i use is not good 4 him, i'm working on a new bigger tank for him and it will have sand. And sorry for my shabby english.

Attachments

• 27102012186.jpg
    27102012186.jpg
    112.2 KB · Views: 348
  • 28102012187.jpg
    28102012187.jpg
    63.9 KB · Views: 408
  • 01112012210.jpg
    01112012210.jpg
    83.9 KB · Views: 360

scooty16

Reaction score
Hello and welcome! :D

First of all, you have an absolutely beautiful axolotl and tank set up! What is your little cuties name?