My axolotl-less cycle

Tjc

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
OK, new tank. 75litres of water, dechlorinated. Juwel sponge based filter installed. Pure aquarium balls added to help mature the filter. Temp 19c. A day or so later....

First readings:
Ph 7
Amonia 0.8 mg/l
nitrite 0.25 mg/l
nitrate 25 mg/l

read Cycling an Aquarium for Aquatic Animals on this site....

Do I do a partial water change now? If so what %

Do I add some frozen brine shrimp yet?

Please help as I am new to all this and have a lovely pair of little axolotles waiting for me in Wales when I can get the water quality right!

Thankyou
x

A couple things, what are pure aquarium balls? is it or do you have any bio media from an established tank? Are there any fish or whatever in your tank now? What is the parameters of your pure dechlorinaited tapwater before it is added to the tank?

The balls are a bacterial treatment, i put in the recommended dose for starting a new tank. It was a second hand tank (Fairly well cleaned out, but with some hard to get at places around the fixed in place filter holder). Only things in tank at present are the bogwood, slate and resin/plastic cave I plan to have in for the axies. I will check my dechlorinated water now. Thanks for replying!

Add brine shrimp now, dont do water change, is the bogwood fully cured? Seems you may have the cycle moving already but without knowing what your declorinaited water sources parameters are before adding to tank it is not poszible to tell.
Mine for example is 0-0-20

The bogwood was purchased as aquarium safe/ready. Was rinsed and has not turned the water brown. My water after it has been dechlorinated, but not left to stand for any time is:

Ph 6.5
Ammonia 0.1 mg/l
Nitrite 0.0 mg/l
Nitrate 10 mg/l

added brine shrimp now

How will I know when to add more brine shrimp or do a partial water change?

Thanks so much for your help - most kind! x