Question: They're coming! What to do?

minxytota

Reaction score
Country
United States
Ok, I'm new to axies but I'm really excited and have been doing all kind of research on how to care for them. My issue is this: I'm nine month's pregnant and will most likely be in the hospital when my axies get here in the mail. My roommates don't do pets but have offered to help when the little guys get here but need a step by step on what to do. I'm planning on having snails and guppies in there from a well established tank for food until I can get home from the hospital but I'm worried about the step by step. Help?

Can you postpone the delivery....
Of the axolotls not your baby ;) lol

I'd be putting off rather than putting that kind of pressure on non-animal orientated flat mates :)

Good luck with it all :D

I wouldn't have your friends feed your axolotls. There are so many horror stories of friends overfeeding axolotls and fouling the water. Also, your axolotls might not eat for a few days after they arrive. They certainly aren't going to starve the couple days you're in the hospital. When they arrive just float their bag in the tank water and add a little bit over the course of a half hour to adjust the temperature and release them into their new home.

Please read the caudata care sheet on axolotls: http://www.caudata.org/cc/species/Ambystoma/A_mexicanum.shtml

Skip on the snails because they can cause more problems than good

Dont agree with this statement at all.
Keep your friends away from your tank, they will do more harm than good, except for putting them in the tank when they arrive. Is there anyway you can delay delivery (of the axolotls) ?

Last edited:
Lol, no I can't delay delivery they're already on their way. I thought they were going to come sooner than they actually did when I ordered them. So my axies should be fine with some free roam food population and just floating them like fish when they get here.