Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Question: Planting Substrate?

Olivia97

Reaction score
Does anyone know any safe planting substrates that i can buy in aus that are safe for axies and preferably not 100s of dollars? I am planting in terracotta pots then covering with a layer of sand then a layer of fly screen wire and another layer of sand.
Thanks,
Olivia

Neik0s

Reaction score
I have this problem also! I think to use the JBL Manando substrate and cover it with extra fine sand ! This could be the solution ? Or the sand with the passage of time goes by the substrate?

minxytota

Reaction score
I'm new to axies but not to planted tanks.
Most aquatic plants honestly do fine in just sand and don't need soil.