Question: Do axolotls shed skin?

imzunicorn

Reaction score
Country
United States
And I don't mean like a snake sheds skin in one giant molt like that. I mean, like little bits of skin continuously?

Generally I've heard no, but if they have bad water quality or their slime coat is damaged you may see it start to "shed"

I've heard, though I don't know for certain, that sometimes they'll shed their protective slime coating if they get too stressed. Might be something to look into, and if you find this is the case, maybe check out some water treatments that help stimulate the growth of a new slime coat?

These are just suggestions of where to start researching; don't take what I've said as written-in-stone, as I'm still fairly new at this.

Really? I had heard that they don't have a slime coat and that's why you're not only able to touch them, but that you shouldn't use dechlorinator with stress coat in it.

Anyway, no, I don't have a problem with any of mine shedding skin dramatically. Although a few days ago, Spider had a fungus. I also had like 5 dead guppies in another tank because I didn't notice the filter wasn't on. The dead guppies were fuzzy with fungus. There were also bits of food everywhere that had fungus on it.

Anyway, during Spider's salt bath, I noticed he was shedding bits of skin and it dawned on me. Maybe the reason that axolotls get fungus is because they shed skin and that the rotting bits of flesh are attacked by bacteria. Would make sense since fungus, after so long, does eat at their living flesh.