Whats best to use in tank

pavett1990

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
hey guys iv had a look through forum but cannot find an answer i am looking for iv had a look through a few pics in the tank photo thread to see what is on the bottom of tank but i am still not 100% sure on what to do..

when i bought my Axolotl i was given gravel, which i have removed and added coral sand which had bits of small rocks in there which i tried to seive out as much as i can but it does still contain little bits.. (only so much a lad can do with a sieve bending over a 4ft tank trying to get all the little bits out.

iv been told different things like:
- gravel is ok
- gravel is not ok
- sand is ok
- sand is not ok
- clear bottom is better.
- reflection off bottom of tank will stress them..
- filter can cause stress

i just dont know what to have as a "perfect" Axolotl set up..

im quite new to having the Axolotl and the only other pet i have in a tank is a yellow belly turtle which is in his own tank with basically garden stones.. so im not sure of the different names of sand and things.. i see in some photos there is a black sand looking substrate in one or 2 of thanks,, does anyone know what this is called?

any info would be fantastic here guys..

thanks very much

ashley

Both sand and clear bottom are fine, though it does seem that most axies enjoy being on sand. NEVER use gravel, they swallow it and it causes impaction.
When you use sand however (I myself use river sand) make sure you rinse it well before placing it in the tank, or your water will end up extremely messy.

You can use a filter, as long as the flow is not too strong. Get a filter that has the appropriate flow strength for your tank size and use a flow divider. It usually comes with the filter you buy, but in case it doesn't, it shouldn't cost you much at all. It basically looks like a tube with a bunch of holes along the length.