Heatwave in Australia :(

thebatsons5

Reaction score
Country
Australia
Hi,
I'm new to the wolrd of axolotls. My 9 yr old son received an axolotl for Christmas & no matter how much research we've done we keep getting contradictory info. So I'm a little concerned we haven't set up the little guys' tank properly. It's a 50L tank & needs to be full for the filter to be working. We've placed a few rock/tree trunk decorations to sit up high to assist him in swimming up for air, but we haven't seen him get up there yet.
Since finding this website, we've also realised we've only been testing PH levels. We need to test ammonia/nitrate levels as well?
However my main concern is the heatwave we're having at the moment. I'm replacing ice bricks in the tank a few times a day, but can't seem to get the temperature below 20 Deg C. The axolotl seems to be losing weight now & his tail is turning a pinky colour. We've begun feeding him morning & night (frozen bloodworms, previously just night time) & he is eating happily.
Any advice would be much appreciated. The whole family has become quite attached to this little axolotl & we all want to make sure he's with us for as long as possible.
(I've added a couple of photos of the tank & our axolotl)

Attachments

• IMG_0731[1].jpg
    IMG_0731[1].jpg
    92.1 KB · Views: 221
  • IMG_0732[1].jpg
    IMG_0732[1].jpg
    96.1 KB · Views: 201
Hi & welcome

I'm in sydney & also in the heat.

A thing to do immediately / urgently is to remove all the small gravel you have - they can ingest it & it can block them up, causing no eating & many problems.

Leave the bottom bare for the moment & then get some 'playsand' from bunnings $7 for 20kg - rinse, rinse, rinse then rinse again & pop that it on the bottom.

While you're at bunnings grab a big of 500 earthworms or start a worm farm at home :) they are the BESTEST food for axolotls & they don't really require variety so a couple of worms a day & it'll be a healthy axie :)