Question: Cycling with and without axolotl and levels

MaddyAndBilly

Reaction score
Country
Australia
Ok, I will admit that I have rather blindly (as it turns out) purchased an axolotl and now have some questions. Please note that this is my first axolotl and fish tank (was told that axolotls were a beginner level which I really don't think they are).

Firstly the stats:
1 x 16cm/7.5inch axolotl
10 gallon bare bottom tank with one hide and plastic plants
1x in tank filter with outflow bar facing wall
1 x small air stone
I have a master test kit
Baseline numbers for tap water are all fine
Temp 20-21 (yes I know I need to get the down and am working on that)

I got Billy on Sunday - 5 days ago - and put him in the conditioned but uncycled tank.
He ate 3 medium compost worms (cut up) but bought them back up, alive, 30 mintues later. He has accepted no food since.

Within 2 days he started to show signs of fungus (probably why he isn't eating, plus the water temp). It took me a couple of days to figure out what was happening and diagnose. He has now had a salt bath and is in the fridge where he will remain for the next few days.

So ..... my questions/concerns relate to what do I do with the tank to continue the cycling process whilst i have Billy in the fridge.

Firstly these are the stats.

Reading taken after a 30% water change yesterday with Billy in the tank
Ph 7.6
Amonia .75
Nitrite 0
Nitrate 2

Reading taken this afternoon after Billy had been out of the tank for a couple of hours (no water change yet)
Ph 7.5
Amonia 1
Nitrite 0
Nitrate 2

Questions:

1. There are a lot of posts/answers saying "make sure the levels don't get too high". What does "too high" actually mean and do my levels fall into that category? I'm happy to be refered to a specific site.

2. What should I do now that Billy in is the fridge to maintain the cycling process?

Thanks in advance for your comments.

Also a couple of other things.

1. Are compost worms OK as food.