Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

These little guys are baffling me

Bdyoung

Reaction score
So I have a few years of axolotl care under my belt so I feel pretty confident in my knowledge. This is my first time breeding though. I've notice a lot of die off. I know that some just die and its just a part of how it is, but I'm down to about <50% of what I started with. They are kept in plastic tubs with an air stone and I recently added some java moss to maybe help in anyway it can. They have plenty of daphnia to munch on and they get daily water changes and sometimes two water changes if I notice an abundantly high die off. Their water is changed with tank water that my adult axolotls are housed in. I have liquid test strips and have tested the water which came out completely satisfactory. So why are these guys dying off? Also here's a vid of my set up to show you what they're housed in. Vlog/Update 5 - YouTube

SuperSteve

Reaction score
I'm having the same problem. No matter how much I change the water I'm losing quite a few every day. Temperature is fine and they always have food. They're about 3 weeks old now but about a third have died and more keep dying every day... Should they have a hiding place already? More light? Less light?

Bdyoung

Reaction score
I'm thinking of spray painting the tubs black to see if that lowers their stress. Plus clear container and clear axolotl makes it hard to see them.

Kerry M

Reaction score