Illness/Sickness: Floating Sideways

MummaNikki

Reaction score
Country
Australia
Hi All. Im very new to owning an Axolotl (maybe 2 months) as my Son was given it for Xmas from his Nana

The axolotl is very young and maybe only 7 or 8 cm's long. I have been going to pet stores to get advice but everyone tells me something different.

at first i was feeding him baby crickets for about a month, then tried him on liver but now he wont eat, he is floating on his side and he always has his mouth open a little bit. I tried to feed him a baby cricket and he took it but as he always has his mouth open it floated out.

I have a 40lt tank which I have now only filled about 1/2 way and turned off the filter. Im also changing his water once a week.

I have a live plant that is growning on some wood in his tank, could this be making him sick??

There are SO many conflicting things I have been told that I just DONT know what to do and I dont want the little fella to be in any pain or die.

Please post a pic of your axolotl & the tank he's in.
What is on the ground of the tank - gravel / sand / rocks / bare?
Has he ever been in gravel - what did the shop have him on?
Have you tried to feed earthworms or live blackworms or bloodworms?
What is the water temp in the tank?

Don't turn the filter off unless its particularly strong - just place a rock or plant in front of the filter to break the flow.

Have you tested the water in the tank? If so, what are the parameters? Have you been removing poop & uneaten food? How often have you been doing water changes & how much of the water?

Please answer the above ?'s they'll all help to work out what the problem is & don't forget to post pics. Hopefully it will be easy to work out what's gone wrong.

<3 >o_o< <3

* I will have to post a pic later tonight as Im currently at work

* He was on rocks however I took them out on the weekend and now he is just on the bottom of the glass tank