Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Sucks up sand when feeding

BoBo478

Reaction score
AxieHi, Im pretty new to keeping axols and have had one for approx a month now. When I first got him he was on aquarium gravel and after reading the danger of it i quivkly changed to "reptile sand" the sand is very fine and the bag says it is good to prevent scratches and is safe if ingested. But it doesnt appear if the sand was made for being underwater. Whenever I feed my axie it sucks up sand and the earthworms get sand on them when i drop them on the bottom. It looks like it breaths sand out after it eats a worm but it may just be sand moving from exhailing water. Is this bad for my axie?

xxianxx

Reaction score
I reduce sand consumption by feeding the axolotls with tongs or dropping their food onto a plate.

CJ21

Reaction score
I’m new to this site and not sure how helpful my advice would be but anyway. I have sand in my tank and its normal for them to get a mouthful of sand when they eat they will soon spit it out. Mine are over a year old and no problems with it :) but if you are worried you can have a clear bottom tank or feed with tongs. I wouldn’t go back to gravel it will do damage to them. hope this helps

FX1C

Reaction score
Reptile sand is not recommended -
It can be limestone based sand & mess with the tanks Ph.

Scroll half way down & it gives you a breakdown of all sand types.

http://www.caudata.org/axolotl-sanctuary/Aquascape.shtml

Playsand is fine & safe. Reptile sand can be very sharp.