Question: Soon to be new Axolotl owner! Few more questions....

inukawaii

Reaction score
Country
United States
After searching over a month for a new type of pet, I stumbled upon the axolotls. I did a lot of research online and I decided to get one! I want to make sure I am ready for my new axolotl.

Little about me… I am a college student. I have had fish all my life and currently have a funny color changing Betta. I have had him almost a year and he lives in his own 2.5 gallon tank. My new pet cannot be anything with fur or can that live outside a tank…because my apartment will not allow them. So, an axolotl seems perfect. I also lived in Japan in high school and one of my good friends had an axolotl. (ウーパールーパー anyone?)

These are my major final questions/checks before I order my axolotl….
1) I bought a new 10 gallon tank, filled it with sand and water. I also added some of my fish’s declorinator. The filter is from my old fish tank (cleaned toughly) and it is currently on its lowest setting. I bought a terra cotta pot and sanded down the rough edges for a little cave. Fake plants will be added soon. Anything else I need for the set up? Any further suggestions?

2) I looked around online for a place to buy an axolotl. None of the pet stores knew exactly what an axolotl was except the local store and they do not sell any, nor did they know any breeders in the area. I looked at buy-axolotl.com and they seemed very expensive. ($70 to ship?!) I found "theaxolotl" and contacted them about buying a melanoid axolotl. They replied quickly and said they will have some in about a week. $35 to ship and $20 for the axolotl. Is that a good price? Has anyone bought from "theaxolotl"? Any other recommendations?