Daily deaths

SuperSteve

Reaction score
Country
England
Display Name
Steve-o
I'm losing quite a lot of babies every day. I had 28 golden albino's and I'm now down to 11. Only 6 of them have grown a lot. The other remaining ones are still quite small and turned from yellow to white. I've been feeding them lot's of small daphnia and changing the water daily. Some of them don't seem to be eating at all. The 5 biggest ones are all in a plastic takeaway container and are about 1 inch long and roughly 5 weeks old. I've had a desk lamp near them to keep the water warm and boost their appetite. Could the light be stressing them out? I also have a lot of eggs my own axolotls laid and there are quite a lot of deaths with them too. By the way this is my first time raising babies but I always make sure they have food and clean water. Thanks.

Have you been washing out the containers daily with a bicarbonate/salt mix? It's essential to keep the slime off the containers. Cleanliness & fresh water changes as well as a steady supply of good foods are the basic necessities for little ones.

Have you tried raising BBS to supplement the daphnia... Maybe that could entice them to eat more.

<3 >o_o< <3

I've just been using hot water and a scourer to scrub the tubs out. I have attempted to hatch BBS but the first time nothing had happened after 48 hours and the second time the entire mix had for some reason all risen to the top and stuck to the sides of the bottleso the only thing there was clear water.

There's a BBS hatching guide which is a simple set up

http://www.caudata.org/forum/f46-be...rine-shrimp-hatching-harvesting-tutorial.html

Follow the directions & make sure the eggs you have aren't out of date or old stock.