Just a few questions.

eyestooawake

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello, I am new to owning an axolotl. I have had him for just over two weeks and have been attempting to do as much research as I possibly can and luckily I have come across this forum. I have been reading past threads and most of my questions have been answered but I still had a couple left (if they are repeats still, then I apologize). I am a biology teacher at a high school and we had just finished our unit on animal development, featuring a section on axolotls and neotenic development. I was at the mall shopping when I saw one of the kiosks selling axolotls! I had a 10 gallon tank still in the box at home and have thought they were adorable for a while. I asked the man selling them what went into taking care of them and he didn't give me much except use dechlorinated water (duh). My axolotl, named Toothless, is in a 10 gallon tank with no substrate, I have 6 freshwater tanks up and running and test the water in them all regularly with my API master kit, he has a low-flow filter that disperses the filtered water over the surface rather than straight down into the water. My questions are:

1. I have two aquatic turtles and use a water conditioner (in addition to the conditioner for dechlorination) that supposedly helps to break down waste and keep their skin healthy and parasite-free. It is "All Living Things" brand Water Cleaner for all aquatic and semi-aquatic reptiles and amphibians. I didn't know if I should/could use it in my axolotl tank?

2. In my research I have been a little confused about salt baths. I understand the process but some have said to use table salt and others have said to use aquarium salt. Which one is best?