Re-designing my Tank

Vickie

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

I'm new to the life of Axolotls, I've had mine for just over 2 months and got them off of someone who had had them for over a year. I have kept their set up pretty much the same as they had it before. Having read through a few of the previous threads I have seen people add layers to there tanks, I'm wondering how to do this. As I would love to give them more to explore and climb and they have a little stone/rock hide which they love climbing on.

My tank is 36 inches by 14 inches by 15 inches high and it has two Axolotls in it, hopefully if I have done my profile picture correctly it should show Axol and Lottie.

Lottie (female) is a little fatty who since having her eats between 3 and 5 earthworms every other day and Axol (male) has eaten twice, those two times he had 2 earthworms and is very skinny. I would say it's the change of ownership which has done it as it's been his last two feeds he has eaten.

They are very cute! One suggestion, though- I'd probably be getting rid of those pebbles as they aren't large enough to not be eaten if one of them gets overly adventurous in their choice of food!
As to adding layers, you could use perspex put together with aquarium safe (make sure it says this on the tube!) silicone, and create a box to slip into the tank. You could then use the silicone to glue the rocks you currently have to it to make it look pretty. Alternatively, slate works quite well in creating layers. Just remember it will need to cure for at least a week before it goes into the tank :)
In my own tank, I have a bar of (massive) river stones with a whole heap of PVC pipes put through which the axies adore. The top of the bar has algae and moss growing over it, and I've caught them hanging out there regularly.