Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Artificial plant question

Hamamelis

Reaction score
Is there an easy way to tell if artificial plants are suitable for axy tanks? I acquired a heap of second hand fabric type plants, a while back, when my Dad gave me an old terrarium full of 'em.

As it turns out the light's broken on my axy tank (bought second hand, with a light fixed in the lid), and the anubias I moved in there is disintigrating, I figured that, at least until I get the light fixed up, fakery is the way to go- but how can I tell if the imitation plants I have are OK?

I obviously don't want to poision my 'lotl, and I've never used artificial plants before, so I don't know if ones made for reptiles are aquarium safe or not. It seems a waste to get rid of them and buy new ones if I don't have to though.

Thanks for any advice, even if it is 'chuck the lot of them!'

layna

Reaction score
I believe people advise silk artificial plants? im not sure though, i have a plastic fake one i got from the pound shop and its never caused any problems :happy:

snuggly time

Reaction score
I chose to use plastic plants from pets at home, that way I know they're aquarium safe. My lotl loves climbing them and its one thing less to worry about keeping alive lol.

shazza

Reaction score
Yes all mine are fake, I have ornaments too.. Never had a problem easy to keep clean as well..

Hamamelis

Reaction score
I'm aware that you can buy artificial aquarium plants, I'm just not sure if ones sold for use with reptiles are designed to be safe for aquatic animals, and I don't have the original packaging to check.

Does anyone know?

layna

Reaction score