Axolotls Diet

Evo Axolotl

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Display Name
James Watson
Just a quick question on behalf of my little guy. I am currently feeding him on gamma whole frozen fish (Whitebait) and I was wondering if this is an ok diet for him :)

Thanks.

Last edited by a moderator:
http://www.caudata.org/forum/f46-be...-general-discussion/53668-whitebait-food.html

Hi,

I am pretty new to axolotls and have never used whitebait, but here is a previous thread about it that may be of some use to you. Not sure if you are using it frozen or live? If live, there are others with much more experience in providing feeder fish for their axolotls that may be able to chime in.

We aren't very adventurous so use compost worms as a staple diet for ours with occasional pellets! :rolleyes:

Just a quick question on behalf of my little guy. I am currently feeding him on gamma whole frozen fish (Whitebait) and I was wondering if this is an ok diet for him :)

Thanks.

As an occasional treat but not as a staple diet. Earthworms are the way to go.

Sticky: Why earthworms? (
multipage.gif
1 2 3) LeFarge

Check out this thread for more info

I wouldn´t even use them as an occassional treat unless in circumstances where more apropriate foods are unavailable
. I don´t understand this idea of "treats"...specially since people usually use sub-optimal or unnatural foods as said "treats". I doubt frozen fish, liver or prawns are the equivalent of chocolate to axolotls...

Just here for advice Rodrigo, no need to get sarcastic and petty as it isn't the right attitude on a FORUM! Especially not off a 'Moderator'!

Anyway cheers for the advice for those that acctually helped :)

Just here for advice Rodrigo, no need to get sarcastic and petty as it isn't the right attitude on a FORUM! Especially not off a 'Moderator'!

Anyway cheers for the advice for those that acctually helped :)

Before this escalates.. please, I don't think he was being sarcastic and petty, but just honest.