Can you feed babies too much?

Kristen0888

Reaction score
Country
United States
I'm a newbie and so far, so good with my babies, but I'm curious. Can I feed them too much? I feed them freshly hatched bbs twice a day, around 12 hours apart. They do poop...a lot! So, I know that what is going in is going out, so that's a good thing. But, their bellies are constantly big and orange. I know this seems like a strange question, but should I cut down the feedings to once a day? I just don't want to kill them with over feeding. Thank you!

Attachments

• aaaah.jpg
    aaaah.jpg
    69.9 KB · Views: 576
  • ah.jpg
    ah.jpg
    51.6 KB · Views: 527
  • ahh.jpg
    ahh.jpg
    62.6 KB · Views: 735
  • ahhh.jpg
    ahhh.jpg
    98.5 KB · Views: 316
  • ahhhhh.jpg
    ahhhhh.jpg
    52.8 KB · Views: 298
  • ahhhhhh.jpg
    ahhhhhh.jpg
    74.2 KB · Views: 382
Axies will eat until they can't lol
as long as you see them consummimg what you are feeding you are fine.

I would say the only time you would need to fear over eating is if you switch them to a pellet that expands. You don't want them consummimg a bunch to fill their belly and then they expand.

As long as they are eating and the waste and uneaten food is being taken out so it doesn't foul the water you should be fine.

Sounds like you are doing a great job

Awesome! Thank you. I didn't know that about pellets, so that will come in handy in the future. Thank you! I only leave the bbs in there for an hour and do a 100% water change after, with the container a little more than half full. Then every 2 or 3 hours i go check them and suck out all the poop. Thank you for the good information!

One more question that I forgot. It is normal for them to get like a red dot on/in their tummy. If you look at the last picture, you can kind of see it. I'm not sure what it is. There is nothing else in their container for them to swallow.

That's the liver. Aren't axies cool?