Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Need Help with Axolotl Eggs - Please!

marq

Reaction score
Hello all,

It is my first time raising axolotl eggs. Its very exciting, but also scary. The eggs were laid 3/15/2013, so they should hatch in the next couple days right?

I'm also wondering when I should start hatching brine shrimp. I have everything set up for them. I just don't quite know when to begin the process because I don't want the brine to get too big for the axis to eat.

I attached a picture of how the eggs look right now (3/26/2013). Can anyone give me an estimate of when they'll hatch? I just really don't have much basis for comparison.

Thank you so much in advance!

Marq

Attachments

• IMG_20130326_125236.jpg
    IMG_20130326_125236.jpg
    123 KB · Views: 5,751

Alkylhalide

Reaction score
First off just take a deep breath! Youll do fine!

So they were laid 10days ago then what temperature do you have them at? They dont look like they will be hatching soon. My eggs were kept at 62f and if took 17days to start hatching. You can control the time it takes to hatch by the temperature of the water.

You will start to be able to see gills and eyes and organs when they are almost hatched.

As for bbs, you can wait until the first baby hatches, the hatchligs will feed off their yolk sack for the first 24-72hours so they dont need food.