Eggs anyone??

racheljritchie

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Display Name
Rach
Hi my son's Axy suprisingly covered its tank with eggs on Easter Sunday. i think we may have 200 ish eggs. I want to try to raise some and i have never done so before, we have had our Axy's for over 2 year now and although i thought we ad a male/female combination i wasnt sure! Now i am :rolleyes:

I have read through the previous posts as i dont want to be a reapeat asker!!
but...

what is the usual ratio of eggs actually hatching?
how will i know that they are viable? do i just have to wait and see?
if i have to cull some...how? (the thought of this turns my stomach)

Also she laid on cleanout day!! and as i was unaware she was going to do this i have had to use old tank water which i have topped up with room temp bottled water?

and lastly does anyone want some eggs? i live in Washington, UK

Thanks
And apologies if i have posted in the wrong area

I was told there was a 85% approx hatch ratio. You will know if a egg isnt viable whenthe rest of the eggs start to develop and the other ones just stay as a ball. They will eventually turn cloudy and then die, and mold. If you see any eggs that are not viable i suggest you remove them. Thats the easy part of culling. Also if you dont think you canhome/take care of them all its probably best to cull them as eggs.

Once they hatch you will see genetic weaknesses within the first few weeks. Its normal its through the many years of imbreeding. Im going to assume this is your axies first clutch of eggs so there may be a higher mortality rate but dont quote me on this.

Did you either remove the eggs or remove the axies? They will eat the eggs.
I like the idea of removing the eggs better, put them in a tuperware with an airstone and you just leave them till they hatch.