Introducing hand feeding

pennypop

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Display Name
Pennypop
Hi there, I'm new to all this and only picked up my axi's yesterday. I was wondering what was the best way to introduce feeding by hand? I have frozen bloodworm at home ready to feed them but just wondering on advice and tips on starting off. Thank you in advance for your help.

How big are your axies? I find bloodworms are very messy and have given them up in favour of earthworms and mealworms now that mine are 6"+.
But if you just waggle the food in front of their noses they should take it quite easily. And they will nibble your fingers!

I don't mind the nibbling, I have 5 birds and 5 hamsters so I'm used to being bitten!! Lol. They are both about 6". Are bloodworms a bit small for them now?? How often is best to feed them when they get to this size??

What about wax worms?? And should the meal worms be alive or the bags of dried ones??

Waxworms are apparently very fatty - great for lizards but not for axies except as an occasional treat.
I use live mealworms, not sure about dried.
With bloodworms I found that they want so much it's not really worth it, and they make such a mess it's a nightmare to clear up afterwards. I feed them daily ATM, 3 small earthworms each.
I can recommend Buy Worms for Fishing Bait and Composting | Worms Direct , I bought a wormkeeper with 500 worms - good for 50 meals even without the worms breeding.

I've heard you can give them small prawns too??

Earthworms at their size should be their staple diet, butthere is a variety of foods you can feed them as a treat. I would avoid freeze dried or dried foods, other then carnivor or axolotl pellets(these can be used as their staple diet if you prefer, or at least thats what i heard, im using earthworms)
Earthworms are easy to hand feed i just dangle it in front of their face and they love it. Bloodworms lol not so much.