Question: Help please! A few unanswered questions

Sabby2090386

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Display Name
Sabby20903
Hello, I have had axolotls for years but two of mine suddenly decided to have a clutch!

Its my first time with eggs/raising and although I feel confident I have a few questions I can't find the answers to online! Please help!!!

1. What should I keep the eggs in just before and after hatching? (Currently have in large tank 3ft x 2ft still attached to plants).
2. When feeding brine shrimp where do I put the babies? In a separate container to feed then back into the tank or feed in the tank then try to change all the water??
3. How best to move babies? Net, Turkey baster, Jug??
4. Do they need any special lighting???

Got my tupperware containers, the brine shrimp to hatch, the bubble stones and pumps, nets, pippets, water balancers and a large tank. Any suggestions?

I really want my babies to do well! Think they are a few days from hatching and need to know whether to move them now or leave it till after they have hatched? Any help will be most
gratefully received!!!

Thanks Sabrina x

This is going to be the fastest reply ever (I just so happened to be browsing when your post appeared). From my own experience, and what I have read from a few years on the forum this is how most people tend to raise axolotl larvae, and other larvae:

- keep the eggs in either a Tupperware, or other small container in fairly shallow water. Water changes shouldn't be necessary at this point, though you may change a little of the water now and then while the eggs are developing. Some, like myself, keep them in a small tank with a gentle air stone providing good oxygen and water flow over the eggs, but not bumping them about. This is optional though.