Illness/Sickness: Can't solve problem...

WATERDRAG0N

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi Im pretty new to axolotls... I did my research but still unsure. I have my axolotl (I think he/she is about a year old, 2inches) He is in a 33 gallon long tank, sponge filter attached with air pump, a small HOB filter rated for 10-15 gal just to filter out the debris so I dont have to siphon every week. the HOB filter I drilled holes into to disperse the flow to lessen the water current. Water I use is tap with chlorine conditioner... water temp stays at 65f-67f has a small fan on top to cycle the water and lower temp. The fan evaporates about a gallon a day so I put a fresh gallon of water in daily...But his gills have been shirking since I gotten him, I had him for about 6 months now. He doesnt have any more of the "feathery" looking gills any more just the main part of the gills. They are slightly curled but he has been like that when i purchased him from a breeder. He likes to stay by the sponge filter? IDK if that means anything.. he can swim away from it easily so i figure it doesnt stress him out if I have a few hides in the tank but he prefers to be right by or under the sponge filter... is he sick? I heard somewhere about their gills shrinking when the water aerated so he doesnt need all the feathery gills?

Also he does not come up fir air that much he stays on the bottom more. He eats every other day. The tank is a foot high.... that's all the details I can come with at the moment.
Is my axie sick? How do I help him

I'll call your axxie 'he' for the sake of argument, hope that's okay!

I've read threads by other owners whose axxies have luxuriously big gills, and they have all sorts of methods. Some have good genes, others recommend lowering the flow of your filter as much as you can. I have also read before that if the water is well aerated, their gills won't grow as much.