Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Axies won't eat

Antonio p

Reaction score
Hi I'm new to the axolotl community (I just received two axolotls they're about two inches long) my axies haven't been eating and I was wondering if anything was wrong. Any suggestions?:(

FX1C

Reaction score
At 2 inches they will need lots of care & good live food available for regular munching.

How are you keeping these little lotls?
Have you got them separated in tubs?
Have you been changing their water regularly or testing their water if you have them in a tank?
Keeping them in separate tubs is the easiest way to ensure their water is freshly changed 100% daily (aged dechlorinated tap water) with tub scrubs every 2nd day & that they have access to food.

What have you been trying to feed them? Live blackworms are excellent to entice them to eat - daphnia can be left in the tubs as well but if you can get them to eat the live blackworms that would be the best.

Post a pic of your lotls & how you're keeping them, just in case there are any other issues.

<3 >o_o< <3

Antonio p

Reaction score
Hi I have my axies in a ten gallon glass aquarium with a bare bottom some fake plants and a rock I'm trying to Get a hide but haven't had the money to get one. they are currently housed together and show no signs of aggression towards each other. I've tried to feed them frozen blood worms newt and salamander pellets tadpole food and I'm currently trying to harvest mosquito larvae. I recieved them this Saturday and they are my first axies.

Antonio p

Reaction score