Question: New aquarium

Jcreppel

Reaction score
Country
United States
This is my first time ever owning an aquarium and did some research before setting it up. I bought sand to cover the bottom and rinsed it like the bag said, however, my water is still kinda cloudy. And this was about four days ago. I haven't ordered my axolotl as of yet because I want envy thing to be completely correct before I do all that. Any suggestions on how to clear up my water, if it would even bother the axolotl?

I'm in the same place as you. I'm setting up my tank before fetching my new pets. (I haven't sorted my sand yet, but my water is brown from tannins from my mopani wood.)

What I'm doing at the moment is focussing on getting my tank cycled. If you're not in any rush to get your axolotls, you might want to do the same. Have you got a water test kit yet? (I ordered some ammonia and water mixture to dose the tank. I'm having issues reading the colour chart on my test kit, but it has started cycling now.)

The benefit of getting your cycle going first is your axolotl's new home will be filled with helpful bacteria ready to keep ammonia and nitrate at bay, and mean your new friend is less likely to get hurt by a spike. (Although frequent water testing is advisable to keep a look out.)

Alternatively, you can keep it in tupperware and use their waste water - when you change their tupperware water daily - to add ammonia to the tank to get the cycle going. It depends whether you're up for doing daily water changes.

If the cloudiness is leftover powder in the sand, it will eventually go away, but since you are only 4 days into it, it might make sense to start over with it. For rinsing, put the sand in a big bucket and swirl it with water from a hose. For a long time.

Some tap water will cloud initially in a new tank. If this is the problem there's nothing you can do but wait it out. Adding some live plants might help.