Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Hello! Getting my Axolotl soon, any advice? :)

ElaineSelene

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm new to keeping amphibians but I am getting an Axolotl soon. (I found someone kind enough to trade me an axolotl for some fancy rock specimens in my collection).

What I know is it needs cold temperatures (use an ice filled bottle)
I have a 20 gallon long for just 1 Axolotl
keep clean water with no current
no gravel or substrate
plenty of places to hide
nothing in the tank smaller than its head or it will eat it
don't keep it with fish
feed worms and pellets (How often? I've seen several times a day and once every two days)

My questions mainly are:
Can I put a filter on the tank if I manage to somehow break the current?
Does it need a bubbler and an air stone (at a low setting)?

Thank you!
-Elaine

EDIT:
OH and does the tank need to cycle like for fish? I am wondering if I can put him in the water that is already in the tank (I JUST got rid of my tropical fish today and I removed the heater!) OR if I should put in totally fresh water and start cycling the tank. I'd rather just put in fresh and get him soon but I don't know what is best for him. Thanks!

Last edited:

Elliriyanna

Reaction score
it needs an air source so if your filter does not aerate the water yes you will need a bubbler. a sponge filter is typically the best filter but you can use a whisper type HOB or even a canister filter if you point the spray bar at the side.

How often to feed depends on how big your axie is, babies generally need fed 1-2 times a day.

If you " feed" your tank you could probably technically put him in the tank but I am unsure, they do need a cycled tank.