C. cyanurus and C. orientalis

jennamae93

Reaction score
Country
United States
Display Name
Jenna
Hello everyone. I was just wondering if C. cyanurus and C. orientalis could be housed together? I have the Chinese now and was given the opportunity to adopt two BlueTailed. I wanted to put them in with my Chinese but wanted to make sure that they would be okay housed together beforehand. Thanks for any help!
~Jenna

I'm not an expert like some of these people on here are, but I think no. Most newts naturally excrete a toxin through there skin and each newt has a different one. Mixing the two species could cause them both to be under constant stress or even get sick. Both of these newts are also from different parts of the world which give them two unique natural habitats that arent native to the other. I'm sure you can mix them, but you may be endangering them.

Well, they are both from China/Japan areas and need cold water. I see where you are going with the toxins though. Thanks!

I just looked it up and they are both from China! Haha, but no worries, I still appreciate the input. :)

I've seen similar questions before, and its generally advised not to mix species (yes, even similar/related ones). I don't know them exactly, but there are some valid reasons not to mix c. cyanus and c. orientalis.

Being so similar they probably need the same environment and wouldn't poison each other. They definitey wouldn't eat each other. You can probably keep them in the same tank peacefully provided there is enough space for each species to establish a territory, though you'd need more than twenty gallons and a tank several feet in length. Issues might be hybridization, disease and parasite transfer, and the overall stress of being kept with another species will result in lower quality of life and shorter life span. Just get a ten gallon tank and spare the newts the stress:happy: