Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Hello from Ann Arbor!

yonykins

Reaction score
Hello everyone!

I'm a third year undergraduate student at the University of Michigan.
I'm currently leaving in a tiny little room in a boarding house with my axolotl Leviathan (Levi for short).

Long story time!

Being a college student is not ideal for owning any sort of pet, and when I first saw an axolotl in a pet store, I desperately wanted to have an adorable new friend, but I thought it best to wait until I had a stable life.

So around ten years from now...

I'll give you fair warning, this story is may make you somewhat angry...

Enter my sister! I was out to dinner with my family when my sister abruptly said, "it's too bad you didn't want that axolotl..."

Of course I wanted an axolotl! How could you not!

Apparently, her boyfriend's twin siblings, a boy and a girl, ten years old, had gotten two axolotls for their birthday. One male, a wild type named Oscar, and one female, who I think was a golden albino, but I'm not sure.

Apparently the male, Oscar, was being aggressive towards the female, Bella. They had wanted me to take Oscar so they could keep Bella, but instead separated the tank after she had lost an arm.

Unfortunately, one day they found her dead on Oscar's side of the tank. Poor girl!

Several weeks later, I received a text from my sister asking if I still wanted an axolotl. I immediately called her back and we arranged for me to pick him up that Friday.