Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Rocks sticking to my little newt!

sunny4

Reaction score
I just got a chinese firebelly newt about two days ago and I have some questions.

1. I just bought the sand/gravel that the store recommended, it's about 1-3 mm and when the newt goes over to the "land" area, the rocks stick to it and as it walks, I'm scared they might scrape its belly. Should I buy bigger gravel? or smoother sand?

2.What do I NEED to have in the tank? the girl at the store said I only needed 5-8 cm of water, accessible dry land and a hiding spot...

3. It wouldn't eat the bloodworms I bought. Should I try other foods? or try again in like two days?

I'm totally new to this, so any help is good help :D

AeonMapa

Reaction score
1. I don't think that the sand sticking to the newt is anything unusual or cause for concern. Maybe send a picture of the newt on the sand here on the thread and we can make sure?