Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Question: GH and temperature questions

MacEwenS

Reaction score
I'm new to keeping amphibians. I have 4 of what I believe to be Chinese fire-belly newts.

I've included an image of the current version of the tank they are in.

The volume of water is about 36L.
This water is at room temperature before introduced to the tank and also treated with a water conditioner that is supposed to neutralise heavy metals and remove chlorine and cloramine. The water is further
supplemented with beneficial bacteria.

The tank is kept at room temperature which during the summer is between 68F and 72F degrees. During the cooler months it is between 64F and 68F degrees.

Every day I remove with a turkey baster any waste or uneaten food.

Every week I replace about 2/3 of the water with fresh and treated water as described above.

When testing the water these are the readings I get:
GH 120 ppm (mg/L0
KH 40 ppm
ph 7.0
NO2 0
NO3 20

I have concerns about the high GH reading and would like to know what would be the ideal range for my newts.

I would like to know, as well, the ideal temperature range for my newts during the winter and during the breeding season.

Any other observations and advice would be appreciated.

Thanks, Susan

Attachments

• 100_1853.jpg
    100_1853.jpg
    109.8 KB · Views: 207
  • 100_1820.jpg
    100_1820.jpg
    98.8 KB · Views: 176

Jennewt

Administrator
Staff member
Reaction score