Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

C. Orientalis how do i get them to be aquatic?

imheretowatch

Reaction score
Hi!,

So I have been breeding orientalis for 3 years now. Each time getting more success with survival rate and I have 10 efts currently (most have been sold). I have two females that are laying eggs constantly (still are). I am always having more and more newts and I have been considering trying to make the efts aquatic for once. Many people do this and I have always wanted to try this, but all my efts really seem to dislike water, which I understand since as juveniles they are hydrophobic. But how do some people have their efts in water at around 1 week after metamorphosis? Any help would be greatly appreciated! I have pics on my oldest efts they are around 4 months and over 4cm. The younger ones in the paper towel set up are 1-2 months and are nearly 4cm, you can see that the older ones are housed in a 75% water setup and 25% land but they never enter the water.

Attachments

• caudat.jpg
    caudat.jpg
    68.4 KB · Views: 195
  • c.jpg
    c.jpg
    237.6 KB · Views: 196
  • c2.jpg
    c2.jpg
    83 KB · Views: 208
Last edited by a moderator:

Bellabelloo

Julia
Staff member
Reaction score
Re: C. Orientalis how do i get them to be aqautic?

I would personally reduce the water level to an inch or so, and have it full of live aquatic plants...I think the little efts will find it more inviting.

Azhael

Site Contributor
Reaction score