Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Bloat, bubbles, or healthy?

arcanum

Reaction score
I'm new to keeping axolotls, so I've been researching like mad about every possible thing I can regarding them. I think I'm doing well, but I've run into a bit of a problem that I can't find the answer to on the internet. My juvenile leucistic axolotl has been showing signs of what I think might be air bubbles around the stomach. It's pretty strange. They seem to inflate every now and then in a few places, then recede and look normal again for a bit. Since I've placed my axie into a new tank (just got him/ her last week) that I'm still cycling, I've run tests and the ph is at a constant 7.4, ammonia is still at .25, nitrite 0, and nitrate 5. the temperature has not exceeded 72º Fahrenheit at all. Other than the little bubbly things, my axie's gills have gotten perfectly pink and long compared to how they were when I bought him/her. He/she has also been more active since then too. Also eating habits are normal, as well as BM's, so everything seems healthy, besides the bloating or bubbles, whatever it may be. is this normal for them? do their stomachs expand as they breathe or something like other animals&humans? it happens in multiple places: the end of the stomach near the rear, the one near the head(chest area), one on the lower right of his side, and one on the upper leftof the side. the ones on the sides are static, and recede depending on how much food/poo is in him so I thinj those may be normal, but the bottom ones on the stomach blow up like little balloons for a split second every now and then and recede rather quickly, but are always there just slightly. is he actually healthy and just