A few questions in one thread

THOrange

Reaction score
Country
Belgium
Hello,

I'm a member of this forum for a while, yet I haven't posted anything in a few months now. Everything was going well with both my axolotls, so I haven't had any questions for you guys. And since I'm not an expert myself, I couldn't really answer other questions. So that's why, just so you know :)

Now, let's get down to business. I do have a few questions.

First of all, I've got 2 axolotls. Spyro is about 5 years of age (I don't know the exact age), and Norbert is about six months. Spyro is about 17 centimeters (6,5 inches), Norbert is about 10 centimeters (3,8 inches). Is it safe to put them together in one tank? I've always kept them apart until now. Both are male, by the way.

My second question: I've always fed them either frozen bloodworms or earthworms. Spyro mostly eats earthworms but I give him the frozen bloodworms sometimes. Norbert however looks like he's having trouble with earthworms, he tends to choke on them, so I always gave him the bloodworms. That was until today, the pet shop owner recommended me to give him live brine shrimp, which he seems to like. However, he also told me it's okay to breed guppies if I wanted. Is this true? If it is, this would be handy because it's easier to keep guppies in a tank than to keep earthworms in the fridge.

If the answer is posted somewhere around here, I'm sorry. It's just that English isn't my native language so it's kinda hard to understand everything. Plus I see different answers everywhere I look and hear different answers from anyone I ask about it.

Thanks in advance to anyone who could clear this up a bit for me.

Kind regards,
Nico

Hi Nico,