Feeding??

madcatlady

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi there, I'm really new to this and I have just rescued an adult axolotl. I was wondering how much to feed her, I'm giving her one cooked prawn or one block of frozen blood worm per day. Is that enough or two much? She is in a 25 litre tank with a filter, a place to hide and a bare floor.
samyjyda.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk - now Free

There is no set amount to feed an axolotl. You need to feed her enough to keep her belly the same width as her head.

Earthworms are best as a staple food, although bloodworms are OK for now. Don't bother with the prawn, at least not cooked or salty ones. Live freshwater river shrimp are fine.

25L is rather small for an axolotl, the recommended minimum for an adult is 30-40L.

Where did you you 'rescue' her from?

A girl I know had her with a tank mate but had to separate them as she bit off the other ones foot!! She didn't have room for two tanks so I said I would take her, the tank I bought is just a temporary thing as I can see its a bit small for her. I'm going to get her some brine shrimp and crickets and just go on trial and error with the feeding, I couldn't find any earth worms in my garden so will prob buy some. Thank you so much for the advice.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk - now Free

My axies love crickets but make sure they are only as a treat.
Good luck :)

Don't bother with the brine shrimp - they are too small for axies over 3", and they just end up fouling the water or clogging the filter.

Worms should be available from pet stores, bait shops etc without too much trouble. If you can't get earthworms blood worms will do. I find independant LFSs better than chain pet stores for live food. Crickets OK for a treat, some people find they have to pull the legs off though (I'm not squeamish but not sure about de-legging crickets!)