Votes: 5 4.5%

• Total voters

sde

Reaction score
Country
United States
Display Name
Seth
Hi everyone, i was just wondering out of a strange compelling curiosity what you do with your dead pets. I know its a kinda weird thing to ask but I'm really curios for some reason ( and no its not because i think i have a dieing pet. ). OK i have never done a poll before so I'm not sure if i did it right :eek:. -Seth

Lol, yah probably should have said amphibian pets lol.:p

Only joking, it's good for morale!
It's a good question though, what is the most sensible thing to do with non native animal carcasses? I haven't had any deaths for a good few years now but in the past it's been the toilet for small stuff or buried in the garden for big stuff . today though i don't know if that's good or bad now we're seeing foreign pathogens wiping out our native fauna! does anyone know the correct way to dispose of dead exotic animals? Or am i being over cautious!

Ideally dead pets wether native or not, should be frozen until someone can dispose of them i.e. clinical waste vans come and pick them up or do it yourself or through your vets surgery. That would ensure that no diseases are passed on from the corpse.

I have thrown some in the bushes and buried some. They were all native species, but it wasn't till recently that I realized that I could be affecting the native population. But still if I have any deaths in the future I will probably bury it because it is the most respectful in my opinion. :happy: -Seth

If you freeze specimens for 3 weeks, that kills off the vast majority of any lingering nasties.

my 2 year old chelydra serpentina (aka common snapping turtle) is my garbage disposal. I used to bury but I live in a condo and the neighbors weren't fans.