Question: What to do with axolotl eggs?

jordania33

Reaction score
Country
United States
I'm new to owning axolotls and this is my first post here. I've run into a bit of an interesting situation and looking for some guidance, so any advice would be awesome!
A month ago I bought three axolotls from a woman who told me they were all six month old females. Two nights ago, I noticed one of them had a very swollen and red cloaca, but otherwise was acting normal and active. I assumed she was constipated, and maybe that was the case. All I know is that this morning I woke up to find at least a hundred floating balls attached to my plants. It would appear that these are eggs...which would mean one of my lovely ladies is actually a male. I have no idea which one it is, or which was pregnant, but to say the least, I was not expecting this.

I read up on breeding a little, but I'm still a little unsure about what to do here. Some people mentioned leaving the eggs and the parents will eat them and that this was a natural way to handle the situation, but I feel a little bad. Would breeding and raising be biting off more than I can chew for someone who is as unprepared as I? I wouldn't really have any idea what to do with them once they even hatch, in terms of selling them, or how to keep them stored. I'm literally in the dark about this whole process! Thanks in advance for any advice :)

It's entirely up to you, if you want to raise babies it's great fun, if not you need to remove the eggs and cull them. I'd recommend keeeping a handful.

I agree that letting them hatch and becoming food for the parents seems a bit 'off' but many breeders do this as it's a free source of food. I couldn't do it myself either!

If the eggs are less than 3 or 4 days old you can freeze them to kill them - they have not developed enough to feel anything yet. You can't do this once they start to get a shape though, they have developed a nervous system and freezing would cause pain.