Question: Do you really need to Cycle a Tank

I too am wondering. Thank you for bringing this up ChristianV! -Seth

I'm still new to this, but from what I understand axies are pretty sensitive and can get very sick very quickly if you don't keep you tank cycled and the parameters at safe levels. If you're going to have an axolotl, I wouldn't take the risk of not cycling. It just seems like a huge waste of money and time to spend on it for it to die.

Well, in theory, you could keep an axolotl in an uncycled tank rather happily. I believe there was someone on this forum from Japan that managed to keep several happy, healthy axolotls in a 10 gallon tank with water changed daily. However, I don't know how it was managed, and she never left any tutorials on it, as far as I know.

So, basically, if you're willing to put the effort into changing ALL of the water in an axolotl's tank EVERY day, you can go ahead and give it a try. Personally, I don't think it would be worth the hassle. I dunno about you, but I would go crazy having to change 10 gallons of water EVERY day, having to clean the decorations EVERY week, and having to stress the axolotl out EVERY day with tossing it between the tank and a container. In the long run, it would just make the poor axolotl very upset. They're very sensitive animals when it comes to water conditions and things like that.

My local fish lady tried to tell me that I don't have to cycle or even change water daily, just add 'conditioner' and the axie will live forever. It's no wonder my friends axie died - she purchased hers from the same woman and didn't research it first.
I personally believe in cycling - natural treatment over chemical any day :happy: