Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Worms?!! Harmfull!??

Ai

Reaction score
Hi! I'm kind of new with this tank stuff. But i've got two axolotls in a 370 liter tank.
It looks like Worms' on top of the wood i've got in the tank. It's like tubes and small Worms' come out of them then goes back in. It's creepy. What can this be? And can they be harmfull or should i just leave them??

auntiejude

Reaction score
A photo would really help to identify whatever it is.

Did you quaramtime the wood before you put it in the tank? As a general rule anything that goes in the tank should be quarantined before you add it - plants, wood, feeder fish etc.

Ai

Reaction score
No i didn't know you were supposed to do that. But i've had the tank for two months and eberything in it.

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    110 KB · Views: 520

layna

Reaction score
Have you cycled the tank before you added the axies?
Hmm little worms things like in a coral reef? Odd, have you tried boiling the wood?
Also as mentioned you need to quarantine everything before you add it to a tank in case it has nasties on it :(

Ai

Reaction score
I've boiled it ones. Try it again? It's really frustrating cause i've got friends that's been housing axies for Some time and they've helped me a lot with basic stuff. But never told me this. It's so hard to do things right when you ask but people dosen't tell you thing like this. I mean i trust them.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk - now Free

usafaux2004

Reaction score