Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Unexpected eggs.. Quick tips?

EmbryH

Reaction score
Hey guys,

So Misha surprised me yesterday by laying eggs! I'm going to attempt raising a few, but I have no experience with this. I've been reading articles and such to try and prepare, but I just wondered if any of you had any personal tips or nuggets of wisdom for me.

Also, I was thinking about possibly selling some eggs, but I have no idea about how to ship them. Any advice or personal experience-fueled stories would be great!

EmbryH

Reaction score
Also, I was looking at this kit for raising Daphnia. Does it look good? Does anyone have any Daphnia tips?

layna

Reaction score
Hey, you can ship eggs in a small watertight food tub filled to the top with water to stop sloshing, id also wrap it in polystyrene or bubble wrap to ensure it doesnt get bashed about too much :(
Raising eggs is amazing but a lot of hard work! some people use little yoghurt tubs and put one in each, others use plastic shoe containers and keep a few together that are similar sizes, just make sure you do 100% daily water changes (its easier to have two tubs and just move the axies to the clean tub so you can wipe the scum off the bottom of the dirty tub).

If you decide to cull any eggs, its generally advised to put them in the freezer if they are less than 5 days old. Dont do it any later though as they can feel :eek:
Im unsure as to how you do it if theyre older, but if you leave them in the tank the adult axies will eat them.

A turkey baster and a pippette will be very useful items with babies!

Good luck with your babies :D!

EDIT: just seen your second post.