Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Axolotl Gender?

Aikeler

Reaction score
Hey guys my Axolotl has grown so much! He's such a cutie. But I wanted some other confirmation of his gender…he seems to be a boy from what I have observed…but I could be wrong I am not a Axolotl expert so I wanted some other opinions. I have attached some photos of his "bump". (and also just some other cute ones because he's freakin adorable and I wanna show him off :p)
(yes he is a part time model)

Attachments

• photo 1 copy 2.jpg
    photo 1 copy 2.jpg
    54.5 KB · Views: 236
  • photo 1 copy.jpg
    photo 1 copy.jpg
    97.4 KB · Views: 222
  • photo 1.jpg
    photo 1.jpg
    125 KB · Views: 322
  • photo 2 copy.jpg
    photo 2 copy.jpg
    72.2 KB · Views: 543
  • photo 2.jpg
    photo 2.jpg
    101.9 KB · Views: 215
  • photo 5.jpg
    photo 5.jpg
    58.3 KB · Views: 214

auntiejude

Reaction score
How big is he? He doesn't look big enough to sex yet, they really need to be 8" or more, but even after that they can surprise you.
That bump is pretty ambiguous, females also have a small bump, young males do too.

Reactions: Jan
E

Elise

Is that Randall!? Every few weeks I look him up on youtube to see how he is doing for some silly reason. I think we got our axolotls at around the same time and I was searching for videos on chillers when I first saw your aquarium. Very cool. Let's hope he is a boy otherwise that would be awwwwwkward.

Last edited:

Aikeler

Reaction score