How do I know they're eating?

Angi

Reaction score
Country
United States
Display Name
Angi
Ok so yes, I am one of those worry-ers.

I had some eggs hatch between 3 and 4 days ago, I have been adding brine shrimp babies, then leave them in there for an hour or 2, strain, rinse, and leave in the clean water for about 3-4hrs, then repeat.

I don't see the orange tummys like the posts say I should, I barely see anyone move unless another one bumps in to them then they all swim around.

The water is around 57* F should I think about putting some heat on them or am I just worrying too much?

This is my first attempt at this and I have right around 50 babies I believe. I am keeping them in a cool whip bowl, no aeration.

Anything I should change? Or am I just expecting too much?

I have a DIY fish breeder system (the nylon around a tupperware) that I could suspend them in a tank that's 72* F but I really don't have any options of inbetween temps.

As young as these guys are, today would be the first day you'd be able to see the orange tummys. I've done it twice and both times I would put the brine shrimp in and leave it for about 4-6 hours. Then change the water and do it again tomorrow. You'll be fine, 57 is a little cool, but don't stress.

A cool whip bowl is going to be too small in only a few days, so you might consider something bigger. I used mixing bowls with a bubbler until they were large enough to put in their own tank.

I hope someone else can chime in with any other good advice.

I'd move them to something bigger. I'm keeping mine in 4 of these and haven't had problems

The reason for something this small is just to concentrate the food. I have LOTS of different sized containers to upgrade to little by little ;)

I just wanted to get past the "starving" part, trying to do this in small steps to not lose too many, don't want to be a failure :sick: