Question: Hoping I did everything ok....

lindseyb88

Reaction score
Country
United States
Display Name
Lindsey
Hey. I think I might have messed up but am not sure :(. I was told by a friend who has raised axolotls that the way I did things was fine, we just now have to wait for a spike (nitrate I think he said). I just want to make sure that I didn't mess this up!!! :confused:

Here are the exact steps that I took when setting up the tank. I did this about 2 days ago now. The tank is a 20 gallon long.

1. Put water in the tank. (I didn't have the temperature gauge in at this point but assume the water was at about 72 F)
2. Put the filter in the tank.
3. Put Prime in the tank
4. Two days later (last night) checked the water temp. Saw it was too high so added a fan. Water temp is now safe.
5. Tested the water today, everything is 0.

If I have done anything wrong up to this point, could someone please give me a step-by-step on how to fix it. I am completely new to fish and am working off of what people have told me so far! I am just a concerned mama

First of all, axolotls are NOT fish, please erase that thought from your head and understand that their care is very different from fish.

You have set up your tank OK, but to cycle it you need to grow the beneficial bacteria to convert waste. These bacteria won't grow unless you add some 'food' for them. You need to be adding pure ammonia, fish or axie poop, or dead food of some kind (I used frozen bloodworms). Since your 'readings are all 0' you do not have any kind of cycle yet, and it won't happen by magic if you just leave it.

If you do a search for 'cycling' on the internet you'll come up with loads of descriptions and methods that you can follow.

First of all, axolotls are NOT fish, please erase that thought from your head and understand that their care is very different from fish.