Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Red leg disease

Angi

Reaction score
I have a sick axie and I thought he was just constipated until I read the outcome of another post. I am a veterinary technician so today at work I was able to get some injectable Baytril to medicate him for the next 7 days.

The injections are given in the stomach in front of the back legs... a difficult task, tho the first dose went much better than I expected.

I guess I'm not asking for any answers, just maybe some thoughts sent his way - his name is Nyx (tho I am not sure it's a boy or a girl)

EmbryH

Reaction score
:( Keep us updated. I wish the best! I don't know much about red leg...

Petersgirl

Reaction score
Good luck with Nyx. Our thoughts are with you and your little guy. I wish I had some more advice to offer but Red Leg is a very specific condition and I don't know much about it.

Bellabelloo

Julia
Staff member
Reaction score
Could you add some photo's of your axolotl so we can see? It would be interesting to see the progress of treatment.

seagull

Reaction score
i thought only frogs could get red leg
i wonder what would happen if my firebelly toads got red leg, i'd never be able to tell...

Kaysie

Site Contributor
Reaction score
Red leg is not a disease, but rather a symptom of other diseases, generally systemic infections.

Since you're a vet tech, is there any way you can take samples and identify the offending organism? This will help you better treat it, rather than shotgunning baytril.

Angi

Reaction score