Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Illness/Sickness: Baby Axolotls got heat shocked. Anything I can do?

RAHHHHB

Reaction score
Hey All,

I'm new to axolotl raising and I had a bunch that were doing well and about 6 weeks old (3cm in length). I was cleaning out their tanks and had a friend help out. Unfortunately he put them in water that was a bit too hot (water from the tap). They were only in the water for about 30 seconds before I realized and put them in cold water. They seemed to be fried at first but after a few hours they started to slowly move. I thought they'd be okay because they were responsive for a day or so but now they have stopped moving again! I can see the hearts beating on them since they are white-GFP axies. Is there anything I can do to help these little guys out. I feel absolutely terrible :(. Thanks in advanced for your help!

auntiejude

Reaction score
Is there anything I can do to help these little guys out.
Kick your friend up the **** and don't let him 'help' any more!

You've done thr right thing in cooling them down, but I think only time will tell now. Offer them food, but don't be surprised if they don't for a few days. Keep your eye out for fungus, changes are their slime coast got affected even if their major organs didn't.

Just out of curiosity, any idea exactly what the temperature was?

RAHHHHB

Reaction score
Just out of curiosity, any idea exactly what the temperature was?

Unfortunately I have no clue how hot the tap gets. It didn't feel extremely hot to my touch but I know the little guys don't like anything that is too warm at all.