A baby hatched!!!

seagull

Reaction score
Country
United States
Display Name
Alex
A baby hatched today!!! its also my moms birthday!!! its a small baby so its likely gonna die but at least 3 healthy ones r tryin to break free of their membranes
i may photograph them later

I woke up to find 3 babies hatched! So my question is do you move them? Do I feed them in with the other 50 eggs? I am new to this so am not sure what to do

I move them immediately as soon as i notice a hatched egg. That way you can start doing frequent water changes, feed them etc.. As an egg does not create waste but a baby does. I use a turkey baster to get the hatchlings out. I find this is safe for about the first 10days or so but afterwards I know firsthand(by accident) what the turkey baster can do to a baby after it gets to a certain size lol

i also use a turkey baster but i find removing the old egg membranes works

Oh yeah, the trusty use-it-for-everything turkey baster! Whether it's moving hatchlings, removing unwanted food and poop, empty eggs, feeding juvies - it does everything!

Tiny hatchlings are so hard to catch because they move so darn quick - I found the turkey baster best for moving them for the first week too.

Awesome I will move them now. I have one that is moving but I don't see gills...

Lmao yes the use for everything handy axolotl tool! Mine is cracked on the top so I do eventually need a new one. Plus its dirty too. I try to rinse it but 2$ tool has lasted me a full year!

I use a medicine dropper for feeding hatchlings, but a turkey baster to feed juvies+ and to harvest my bbs. And i use it right now to do water changes for my babies. I do like a 95% water change since i dont have a net or anything else to transfer them.