Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

How many axolotls are in your tank?

Boomsloth

Reaction score
I am a college student living on campus this semester and I have 9 lovely juveniles. In about 3 months I will be moving off campus where I will finally be able to set up my aquariums without having to worry about size or how many I have. I do have some options though. I have back home a 120gallon tank that is just collecting dust, This would be the hardest to transport but the more aesthetically pleasing. I also have wayy too many 10 gallon tanks and a 40g breeder tank. I would like to know what is the most axolotls kept in one tank (obviously not overcrowding them).

auntiejude

Reaction score
Since you need 10gal per axie plus some extra the only limit is the size of your tank!
I have 4 adults in a 150L tank, 2 and 3 juvies in 60L tanks, and 20 larvae in 2L tubs.

Boomsloth

Reaction score
I think I should have worded it a little better haha

I'm asking what are the most axolotls any one has housed together without issue. Right now all of mine are together and have no problems with biting or aggression. They are all still pretty young but by the time I move out should be about ~6in. I'm thinking about either doing a setup of 20 gallon/40 gallon tanks for breeding purposes and then keep the 120gallon for show.

Boomsloth

Reaction score