Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Hello everyone. it is my first time using this site. :)

MissLizD13

Reaction score
Hello my name is liz and i just recently obtained a water dog which i believe is a type of tiger salamander. i live in colorado springs co. i am unsure if it is male or female. named it Sal. it is about 9 inches long and still in the larval stage. i am unsure of its age and if it is neotenic or not. it has beautiful markings and i have had it for 5 days. already eating cut up night crawlers from a tweezer. it likes to sit on the side of the tank that i am closest too, ive noticed. very active at night. would like to know what exact species of tiger salamander it is, age, and possible sex of the unique creature. i currently have it in a 10 gallon tank with some feeder fish although it has only eaten one small fish and prefers worms. i have only fed it twice due to my research saying to feed it 2-3 times per week. i feed it anywhere from 1 1/2-2 night crawlers each time. i will be posting some pictures so as to give others a better idea of how to answer my questions.

Attachments

• Sal 4 (2-21-2014) Day 4.jpg
    Sal 4 (2-21-2014) Day 4.jpg
    65.3 KB · Views: 142
  • Sal 5 (2-21-2014) Day 4.jpg
    Sal 5 (2-21-2014) Day 4.jpg
    50.2 KB · Views: 108
  • Sal 12 (2-22-2014) Day 5.jpg
    Sal 12 (2-22-2014) Day 5.jpg
    43.7 KB · Views: 111

Otterwoman

Administrator
Staff member
Reaction score
What a gorgeous specimen. Here is a link to a care sheet. Best of luck!